Choosing a minimalistic wardrobe

The trends of tiny houses and minimalism lifestyles were not on my mind when I moved onto Oswin. I originally stored everything on the boat and didn’t think downsizing was necessary.

However, as I was getting ready for the summer months, I started to feel unsettled with the organization inside Oswin.

Shopping became stressful because all my clothing was stored under the berth cushions and I couldn’t remember what outfits I already owned. 

Netflix has a documentary called, “Minimalism” and as I watched the first part of the movie, I identified with the concept.

The two main messages I pulled away from just the first 30 minutes were:

  1. When you live a minimalistic lifestyle, you surround yourself with only items that make you happy. Anytime you use an item, or see it on a shelf, you feel satisfaction from your surroundings.
  2. It is common for people to look at their bank accounts and ask the question, “what can I afford?” This question causes a vicious cycle of always needing a larger pay check and feeling unsatisfied with what you have, because you always want more. The right question to ask yourself is, “what do I need?” and then look at your bank account to see how to fulfill that need.

I already live in a small space, which gave me the rare opportunity to evaluate my surroundings. I came to the conclusion that I just needed to purge.

I pulled everything out of the berths and selected a few items of clothing I wanted to keep, making sure they could mix and match with each other for alternative outfit options.

  • 1 jean jacket
  • 1 leather jacket
  • 1 yellow bow tank
  • 1 casual tank
  • 3 favorite t-shirts
  • 2 blouses
  • 1 black skater skirt
  • 1 unique yellow skirt
  • 1 pair of black pants
  • 1 pair of jeans 

While I chose to keep a select few tops and bottoms, I am weak when it comes to dresses and shoes. Most of those stayed on the boat.

Unable to make the trip myself, my boyfriend took the significant pile of clothing to Goodwill and as he unloaded the clothing, a worker commented, “Damn, this girl has a lot of clothes!” The load was only half of what I owned.

I was relieved when I looked at my new closet and knew which outfits I could wear to feel myself.

My goal right now is to only buy clothing items that make me feel confident in myself. If I have to ask someone if it looks good, I put it back. This keeps my closet to a smaller size and I will feel completely satisfied with my wardrobe. 

Leave a Reply

