Skillet stories

One of the best, and worst, parts about living on Oswin is I have to cook fresh food more often than not. Instead of a refrigerator, I have an ice box on board. Which means, every time I buy groceries, I also have to buy a pound of crushed ice. Annoyingly, if I run out of ice, my food goes bad.

My workaround is to buy fresh vegetables and throw them on my cast-iron skillet immediately. What I’ve found is that you can throw anything on a skillet and it has a delicious burnt, mouthwatering taste.

The first meal I cooked on my skillet was farfalle pasta with mushrooms and cherry tomatoes.

Preparation time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • Mushrooms
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Fresh basil
  • Butter
  • Salt & pepper
  • Farfalle pasta

Step 1: Chop up the mushrooms, cherry tomatoes and some basil. Throw (from a distance, if you want to test your athleticism) a tablespoon of butter and salt & pepper to give the veggie mixture a little flavor.

DSC03844.jpg

DSC03848.jpg

Step 2: Boil the water and cook the bow ties, and stir the veggie concoction until the mushrooms shrivel right up. You’d be surprised how easy it is to cook on an alcohol burner –  just light up the tins below and control the flame using the black dials you see above!

Step 3: Combine the noodles and veggies.

DSC03849.jpg

Step 4: Eat it all.

Leave a Reply

