The name Oswin

DSC04506

There is a sailboat superstition that if you rename a boat, the boat will sink. Luckily, my sailboat was nameless, which meant I could name the vessel.

Those of you who know me, understand that the show Doctor Who shapes my life, as any whovian would admit. Naturally, I decided to name my sailboat in reference to an adventure seeker of space and time.

I settled on Oswin. A sassy, independent, character named Clara has the name Oswin when we first meet her, trapped in a dead spaceship, baking soufflés. My sailboat is its own version of a spaceship and although I do not have an oven, I thought Oswin would perfectly inspire my future experiences.

Leave a Reply

